[Review] Favorite Anime of 2014

With 2014 gone, I thought I’d list my top five favorite anime from this year. Now, I will only list anime that started in 2014, so Angel Beats and Sword Art Online which I reviewed this year are exempt. In addition, only anime I have watched the entirety of will be listed. However, anime I have not reviewed are a-okay. Click the titles to go to my full review on each show.

Without ado, my top five series:

Barakamon
I will love Barakamon until the day I die. Barakamon is heartwarming experience that emphasizes family and relationships with others. An interesting premise along with flawless execution, Barakamon is an anime that just makes me happy. It’s pure. It’s innocent. It’s perfect.


No Game No Life

Very smart. Very dumb. No Game No Life is a great series for someone like me who loves to watch people scheme and control. Combine that with interesting characters and wonderfully pretty art and you get one of my favorite anime of the year. I loved how predicting what was going to happen in No Game No Life was impossible and I just had to go along for the ride. What a ride it was.

Black Bullet
(Not reviewed)

Spring 2014 was when I really started getting into anime and boy what a good season it was to start. Black Bullet is a hidden gem of that season, mixing serious and dark tones with cheerful and lovable characters and scenes. It’s Attack on Titan with lolis, in short, but instead of being an overall depressing and dark anime, the juxtaposition of the serious and cheerful accentuates both to make the sum greater than the parts.

Nisekoi
(Not reviewed)

Nisekoi isn’t a masterpiece by any stretch of the imagination. The characters are stereotypical. The story is bland. But the execution is excellent. The art is beautiful and the voice acting is top notch. Above all, while the characters and story isn’t special, it’s very human and relatable. I may not be part of the Japanese yakuza, but having high school romance problems is definitely something I can relate to. It’s also the first anime I had “best girl” discussions with friends about, so that’s fun.

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun
I hate the ending. The ending can burn in hell. But the overall experience was comedic enough that I can pretend it doesn’t exist. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun does comedy right.

Honorable Mentions (in no particular order)
Hamatora
Isshukhan Friends
Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei
Noragami

Anime from 2014 to watch in 2015
Sword Art Online II
Psycho Pass Extended Edition
Re: Hamatora
Zankyou no Terror
Grisaia no Kajitsu
Fate/stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works
WIXOSS


Let’s make 2015 a good one, eh buds?

Leave a Reply

